With the passing of new sick leave laws, employers are reorganizing their business operations to comply with new sick leave laws, and Massachusetts is the newest state to undergo upcoming changes.

Effective July 1, Massachusetts’ new sick leave law will require employers with 11 or more employees to provide up to 40 hours of paid sick leave for each employee annually, and employers with less than 11 employees to provide up to 40 hours of unpaid sick leave.

The sick leave law applies to all employees working on a full-time, part-time, or temporary basis. According to the official website of the Massachusetts Judicial Branch,

“An employer shall provide a minimum of one hour of earned sick time for every thirty hours worked by an employee. Employees shall begin accruing earned sick time commencing with the date of hire of the employee or the date this law becomes effective, whichever is later, but employees shall not be entitled to use accrued earned sick time until the 90th calendar day following commencement of their employment. On and after this 90 day period, employees may use earned sick time as it accrues.”

Employees begin accruing 1 hour for every 30 hours worked starting on July 1 or their date of hire, whichever is later.

With this new legislature being passed, three states and eighteen cities in the U.S. now have sick leave laws. Employers transitioning to meet these new sick leave requirements will find that FingerCheck’s time clock software allows for customized accrual policies.

Administrators can create accrual policies to operate in compliance with the accrual rate set forth by their local legislation. For instance, Massachusetts’ new sick leave law states that for every thirty hours worked, one hour of sick time is earned.

Massachusetts-based employers can set their employees’ earned sick time to accrue at that rate and input any rollover rules they want. FingerCheck’s time clock software can help you stay in compliance with state and federal laws regarding sick leave.

If you’re unsure of where to start, you can get in touch with a support technician who can help you set up your accrual policies by using our in-app messaging system or calling in.

Keep in mind that if you already have an accrual policy in place that accrues sick time off at a faster rate than the new sick law, you do not have to change your existing policy.

For more information, visit the official website of the Massachusetts Judicial Branch, where you can read about the new paid sick leave law.

Share This Article

About the Auth0r


This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Run Your Own Payroll in Minutes

Get Started Now or Schedule a 15 Minute Demo

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top